R & D CELL @ Siliguri Institute of Technology

Research & Development (R&D) CELL
Siliguri Institute of Technology

Siliguri Institute of Technology has been approved as a Remote Centre of IIT Bombay.This centre is proposed to host workshops to train 10000 teachers which will be conducted in the distance mode, using A-View software and Internet, as part of the National Mission on Education through ICT and funded by the Ministry of Human Resource Development, Govt. of India.

From the Desk of Joint Conveners: R & D Committee, Siliguri Institute of Technology:

Siliguri Institute of Technology has promoted meaningful Research and Development activities with a vision and mission to pursue and promote Research in the phenomenal progress of mankind.   In order to strengthen and expand the research activities in the institute, R & D cell has been established and is functioning in this Institution to make one inquisitive like a scientist, resourceful like an engineer and creative like an artist. R & D cell of this Institution started with an aim where young minds and experienced faculty members work synergistically. The authority of the Institute, knowing the importance of R & D has been magnanimous to sanction necessary funds for various R & D activities. At Siliguri Institute of Technology, R & D cell is pursued with the following objectives:

  • To acquire new scientific knowledge
  • To promote Research and Research Projects including Multidisciplinary
  • To publish Research Papers in peer reviewed journals as well as in conferences
  • To organize conferences, seminars and workshops.
  • Institute- R&D Organization- Industry Collaboration
  • Core Competence and Consultancy
  • Faculty Development Program
  • Patents & IPR Knowledge
  • To develop new tools and methodologies to solve problem related to rural and socially
With Regards

Dr. Banani (Adhikari) Das
Associate Professor,
Principal Investigator of DST funded major research projec


R & D Committee Members:

  1. Director-SIT, Chairperson
  2. All Departmental Heads and Administrator: Advisory Members
  3. Dr. Banani Adhikari (Das), Joint Convener
  4. Prof. Chiranjit Sain, Representative of Electrical Engineering Department
  5. Prof. Sharmistha Mondal, Representative of Electronics & Communication Engineering Department
  6. Prof. Mithun Roy, Representative of Computer Science & Engineering Department
  7. Prof. Asit Barman, Representative of Information Technology Department
  8. Prof. Mahadeb Das, Representative of Civil Engineering Department
  9. Prof. Santana Guha, Representative of Business Administration (MBA) Department