# SILIGURI INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY NATIONAL SERVICE SCHEME (NSS) UNIT

## **Standard Operating Procedure (SOP)**

The NSS SIT Unit formed Standard Operating Procedure (SOP) for execution of various programs. All points are framed with the presence of Principal, NSS Coordinators and Committee members.

- The chairman of NSS unit, Dr. Mithun Chakraborty (Principal SIT) welcomed all the committee members. The first agenda point was to form the objective of the NSS committee.
- Our NSS committee chairman suggested that the programs should be connected to social and community services so that it will help to develop a better society.
- NSS Coordinators suggested blood donation camp should be conducted every year either once or twice in our college so that it will help the needy.
- Other committee members have advised that clean and green (Swachh Abhijan), awareness programs on various issues affecting society, Eye and Blood Donation camps, Cloth donation drive to the needy and various outreach programs to be frequently organized by NSS SIT Unit so that our NSS volunteers and students imbibe the motto of NSS "Service before Self".

#### INTRODUCTION

NSS Stands for National Service Scheme. The main objective of the National Service Scheme as envisaged originally was service to the community, offered while undergoing instruction, in an educational institution. It was sought to arouse the social consciousness of students and provide them with the opportunity to work with the people around the educational campuses creatively and constructively and to put the education they received to concrete social use. It has been felt that the primary aim of the scheme is to enable the students to upgrade their personality and experience through community service.

# **OBJECTIVES**

NSS SIT Unit aims at developing the following qualities/ competencies among the NSS volunteers:

- To understand the community in which the NSS volunteer work.
- To identify the needs and problems of the community and involve themselves in problem solving exercise.
- To develop among themselves a sense of social and civic responsibility.
- To gain skills in mobilizing community participation.
- To acquire leadership qualities and democratic values.
- To practice national integration and social harmony

## ROLES AND RESPONSIBILITIES OF NSS VOLUNTEERS

- Students should enroll their name as an NSS volunteer in the college and enrollment is limited to 100 members in every academic year.
- Require active participation in all the activities and to work with/among people.
- Proper dress code (College uniform with I-card) while participating in any activities during off the campus or on the campus is mandatory.
- Identify needs, problems and resources of the community along with Coordinators of the NSS Unit and local leaders of the community.
- All volunteers should work under the guidance of NSS committee members and group leaders nominated by the Coordinators (NSS unit)
- They shall make themselves worthy of the confidence and cooperation of the group/community leadership.
- They should scrupulously avoid entering into any controversial issues.

## RESOLUTION

- All the NSS committee members have collectively taken decision to imbibe and follow the roles and responsibilities among the NSS volunteers
- It decided to organize the various programs every academic year

#### **COMMITTEE**

SN.	MEMBERS' NAME	DESIGNATION	POSITION IN THE COMMITTEE
1	Dr. Mithun Chakraborty	Principal	Chairperson
2	Mr. J.Guha	Administrator	Advisory member
3	Dr. Arup Das	Assistant Professor	Joint Convener
4	Mr. Rajeeb Chetri	Assistant Professor	Joint Convener
3	Dr. Apurba Chakraborty	Assistant Professor	Joint Coordinator
4	Mr. Anup Dutta	Staff, Medical Unit	Joint Coordinator
5	Ms. Megha Roy	Technical Assistant	Member
6	Mr. Bikram bhattacharya	Technical Assistant	Member
7	Mr.Hrishikesh Roy	Assistant Professor	Member
8	Ms.Rimni Chakravarty	Assistant Professor	Member
9	Mr. Anibrata Pal	Assistant Professor	Member
10	Mr. Surajit Dutta	Technical Assistant	Member
11	Mr. Mrinal Das	Technical Assistant	Member
12	Mr.Pankaj Paul	Support Staff	Member
13	Mr. Benoy Sarkar	Laboratory	Member
14	Ms. Lily Chandra Dey	Technical Staff	Member